The Eagle Scout Award

Eagle Scout is the highest advancement rank in Scouting. To earn the rank, a Scout must:

  • Progress through the ranks in the following order: Tenderfoot, Second Class, First Class, Star, Life, Eagle
  • Earn 21 merit badges, including First Aid, Citizenship in the Community, Citizenship in the Nation, Citizenship in the World, Communications, Environmental Science, Personal Fitness, Camping, Family Life, Personal Management, Emergency Preparedness or Lifesaving, Cycling, Hiking, or Swimming
  • Serve six months in a troop leadership position.
  • Plan, develop, and give leadership to a service project for any religious organization or any school or community.
  • Take part in a Scoutmaster conference.
  • Successfully complete an Eagle Scout board of review.


Glenn A. and Melinda W. Adams National Eagle Scout Project of the Year Award

The National Eagle Scout Association established the Glenn A. and Melinda W. Adams National Eagle Scout Service Project of the Year Award to recognize valuable service of an exceptional nature by a Scout to a religious institution, a school, community, or other entity. The award recognizes the Scout for his Eagle Scout leadership service project, which is part of the requirements for earning the Eagle Scout Award. Each year, local councils select a council-level winner, and each region selects a territory-level winner from that pool. A national winner is then selected from the territory finalists.



NESA Outstanding Eagle Scout Award

The NESA Outstanding Eagle Scout Award (NOESA) is a prestigious recognition granted by the local council’s NESA committee to Eagle Scouts who have demonstrated outstanding achievement at the local, state, or regional level. Unlike the Distinguished Eagle Scout Award, which is a national award, the NOESA recognizes Eagle Scouts whose efforts have made a positive impact closer to home.

The presentation of this award should be conducted with the highest level of honor. Often, these men have devoted a lifetime to their profession, avocation, community, and beliefs, at great sacrifice to themselves and their families. Each recipient should receive recognition worthy of a lifetime’s accomplishments.



Distinguished Eagle Scout Award

The Distinguished Eagle Scout Award was established in 1969 to acknowledge Eagle Scouts who have received extraordinary national-level recognition, fame, or eminence within their field, and have a strong record of voluntary service to their community. Eagle Scouts who earned the Eagle Scout award a minimum of 25 years previously are eligible for nomination. The award is given by the National Eagle Scout Association upon the recommendation of a committee of Distinguished Eagle Scouts.



Eagle Scout Scholarships

Scholarships are available to Eagle Scouts ranging in size up to $50,000 each.  Academic scholarships and merit scholarships are available.

For nearly a century, the Sons of the American Revolution (SAR) has enjoyed a close working relationship with Scouting America, actively supporting Scouting programs that build character and good citizens. President Theodore Roosevelt, a distinguished SAR member and ardent supporter of the Scouting movement, earned the distinction of being the first and only person designated as the Chief Scout Citizen. In 1980, the ties between the SAR and Scouting were further strengthened by establishing its Eagle Scout Recognition and Scholarship Contest.

Eagle Scout Recognition Letters Certificates

Scout leaders and parents can request congratulatory letters for their new Eagle Scout from various individuals. Scouting Magazine has information on how to request such letters. Several US agencies provide print-on-demand congratulatory letters.

Other organizations provide Eagle Scouts with recognition certificates, with some giving free patches. The Sons of the American Revolution within the Sam Houston Area Council will not only provide a certificate and patch but, if requested, have a member attend the Court of honor to make the presentation.