Distinguished Eagle Scouts

The Distinguished Eagle Scout Award was established in 1969 to acknowledge Eagle Scouts who have received extraordinary national-level recognition, fame, or eminence within their field, and have a strong record of voluntary service to their community. Only Eagle Scouts who earned the Eagle Scout rank a minimum of 25 years previously are eligible for nomination. The award is given by the National Eagle Scout Association upon the recommendation of a committee of Distinguished Eagle Scouts.

To nominate a Sam Houston Area Council Eagle Scout, download the DESA nomination form and return to Clay Pruitt at clay.pruitt@scouting.org.  For more information, visit the NESA's Website.



SHAC Distinguished Eagle Scouts

Lloyd N. Bentsen, Jr.

Nelson R. Block

Gerald P. Carr

M.L. "Sonny" Carter

George M. Fleming

Michael E. Fossum

Orville D. Gaither, Sr.

Dr. Robert M. Gates

Dr. Carlos R. Hamilton, Jr.

General Hugh Hardy

Robert Herring

William G. Higgs

Judge David Hittner

Harold S. Hook

Charles J. Jacobus, Sr.

Lawrence W. Kellner

Dr. Thomas Krouskop

Jack W. Lander, Jr.

James A. Lovell, Jr.

William P. Lucas

Douglas G. Mac Lean

Carrington Mason

Thomas Milton Orth

Dr. James “Red” H. Duke

Robert W. Scott

Bobby S. Shackouls

L.E. Simmons 

Howard T. Tellepsen, Jr.

C. Travis Traylor, Jr.

Frank D. Tsuru

John B. Walker

David M. Weekley

Louie Welch

John V. Wheat